Bring It !!!

20150723_145057
Jay during a CAD

Before coming on ICS I used to be very scared of failure. So scared in fact that any task seemed too massive for me and when faced with more than one at a time I’d simply do none at all. Being in a new environment with a lot of other creative people has allowed me to follow my heart and let go of that fear of failure. Now I find myself running head on at an array of challenging tasks at once whilst having great fun doing so. I feel more relaxed as I know my team have each others back and the community are willing to help us at all costs.

Spaces

Jay at placement with Children
Jay at placement with Children

International Youth Day
We have also hosted an event for international youth day focusing on civic engagement which involved a lot of dancing, art and acting. The event grabbed the attention of the British PM, David Cameron and other famous people across the world which is pretty cool news for a small town in central Nigeria.

20150811_165101
Jay and TeamKwali members during preparations for IYD

Spare Time

When not at training, team meetings or writing reports I have been planning lessons, helping my host sister with her English, learning how to cook local dishes and even helping build the extension of the church next to my house. In our remaining weeks I have the task of: continuing work with the children forming two science projects; running two community action days based on a local issue in the children’s neighborhoods; taking part in a sanitation day to increase environmental awareness; spreading the message about our science fair; and hosting a huge community wide science fair. All this whilst writing endless reports, monitoring self development and researching a topic for my presentation! Bring it.

Jay(right), Greg(middle) and Adam(left) during a construction
Jay(right), Greg(middle) and Adam(left) helping in construction

By, Jay Galloway.

2 thoughts on “Bring It !!!

Leave a comment